Craving chocolate?

Alright…I’m going to go ahead and declare this a “girls only” post right now. You’ve been warned!

As if working out, training for a race in 8 weeks, and eating healthy is hard enough as it is already…Mother Nature loves to give us ladies a wonderful monthly gift and she arrives under the name of Aunt Flo. I hate Mother Nature once a month. It changes the game of staying on track by throwing in just about one week of hell. I don’t know about you ladies but I don’t exactly feel like putting on spandex pants, a tight sports bra and lacing up my running shoes when I’m bloated and cramping! Not to mention the fatigue and random hot flashes…

Despite this monthly curse, I managed to get my butt out of bed and continue my running program, AND I kicked ass doing it! I even followed my run with 80 sit ups and 50 side bends! One GOOD thing about working out this time of month? It improves circulation and calms down those cramps a bit!

Now, although I’m tough enough to run through the pain of cramps… the one thing I have the hardest time with when my least favorite aunt is in town? CRAVINGS. I have the biggest sweet tooth to begin with so this only kicks it into ultra high gear! BUT for the past two days I’ve managed to stay on track with my eating habits! Might I mention, I’ve NEVER been able to keep to a diet while on my period. So I’m very proud of myself :]

A couple things that have helped me:

Working out has kept my circulation going.

If I take advil once I feel some major cramps coming…keeps my mind off my period.

Target brand nutrition bars! 14 grams of protein plus 19 minerals and vitamins 210 cal…great FOR you….and…it’s chocolate! S’mores to be exact. I eat one after I work out because that’s when you’re muscles are asking for protein. You muscles get what they want: protein. You get what you want: chocolate! I would actually like to eat this for any chocolate craving over a regular candy bar any day!

Sorry it's backwards!

Yoplait yogurts. SO good! And good for you too :] My favorite flavor? White chocolate strawberries! 110 cal. Great for when you’re craving something light and refreshing, yet delicious!

I’ve tried a lot of healthy foods and I’ve found that a lot of power bars and “sweet substitutes” just taste like cardboard and do nothing positive for my taste buds… I’ve finally found two that are a perfect match!

So ladies… What do you do when your annoying Aunt Flo is in town? What do you do to kick those cravings to the curb without throwing your diet down the drain?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

